Stephen Hough

David Aaron Carpenter

First Prize Winner of the 2006 Walter W. Naumburg Viola Competition

First Prize Winner of the 2006 Walter W. Naumburg Viola Competition, 21-year old David Aaron Carpenter is one of the world's most promising young violists. In June, David was selected the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative, the first American in the Initiative's history.

David began studying the violin at the age of six. At the age of 12, he began to study viola and by age 16, the viola became his primary instrument. He continued to pursue both instruments at the precollege divisions of Juilliard and Manhattan School of Music, Italy's Accademia Chigianna, Switzerland's International Music Academy, and the Verbier Festival Academy, studying with Seiji Ozawa, Robert Mann, Nobuko Imai, Boris Belkin, and Yuri Bashmet.

Since 2003, David has been performing with leading musicians and orchestras in the United States and Europe. As the First Prize winner of the 2006 Philadelphia Orchestra Young Artists Competition, he performed the Walton Viola Concerto with the Philadelphia Orchestra under the baton of Christoph Eschenbach. He has made his recital debuts in the United States at well-known venues including Carnegie Hall and the Kennedy Center. In Europe, he collaborated in a duo recital with Maestro Eschenbach at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival which was broadcast live on the NDR German Radio Station.

Last Summer, he collaborated in recital and chamber music concerts with Christoph Eschenbach, Emanuel Ax, Sarah Chang, Leonidas Kavakos, Johannes Moser, and Julien Quentin at the Verbier, Schleswig-Holstein, and Kingston Summer Music Festival. At present, David is pursuing a degree in politics at Princeton University. He currently studies viola with Roberto Diaz, and Pinchas Zukerman.

Program Includes:
Vieuxtemps - Elegie, Op. 30
Hindemith - Sonata for Viola and Piano, Op. 25, No. 4
Paganini - Guitar Quartet No. 15 (with Jorge Caballero, guitar; Lauren Sarah Carpenter, violin; Claire Bryant, cello)
Quincy Porter - Suite for Viola alone
Brahms - Sonata No. 1 in F minor, op. 20

Download the Press Release (PDF)