2 0 1 7 - W I N N E R S


Co-First Prize: Albert Cano Smith (LEFT), Xiaohui Yang (RIGHT)

Co-First Prize Winners of the 2017 Piano Competition


Second Prize: Tiffany Poon

Second Prize Winner of the 2017 Piano Competition


​New York, New York (November 12, 2017) -- The Walter W. Naumburg Foundation announces the winners of the 2017 Piano Competition, held today in New York City.

The 2017 winners of the Naumburg International Piano Competition include:

Albert Cano Smit, 21 years old, from Spain and The Netherlands, a senior at the Colburn Conservatory of Music in Las Angeles, CA
Xiaohui Yang, 26 years old, from China, a DMA candidate at the Peabody Conservatory, Baltimore, MD

Tiffany Poon, 20 years old, from Hong Kong, a student at The Juilliard School and Columbia University

The first prize winners -- Albert Cano Smit and Xiaohui Yang -- both received a cash award of $10,000; a commissioned work (composer TBA), and each will be presented in a New York debut concert in Weill Recital Hall (dates TBA). Tiffany Poon received a cash award of $5,000.

The jury was comprised of Anton Nel, Ursula Oppens, Andre-Michel Schub, Diane Walsh, Seth Knopp, Robert McDonald, Ann Schein and Nicholas Mann.

Alumni of the Naumburg Piano Award include Soyeon Kate Lee, Stephen Hough, Awadagin Pratt, Steven Osborne, Anton Nel, and Andre-Michel Schub, among others.

The Walter W. Naumburg Foundation
120 Claremont Avenue, New York, NY 10027
Email: naumburgfoundation@gmail.com
Phone: 917.493.4040


2 0 1 6 - W I N N E R S


Left to right: Joseph Maile, Pei-Ling Lin, Jeremiah Shaw, and Eric Chin


Winner of the 2016 Chamber Music Competition

​New York, New York (September 23, 2016) -- The Walter W. Naumburg Foundation announces the winner of the 2016 Chamber Music Competition, the Telegraph Quartet, held today in New York City. The winning ensemble’s members are Eric Chin and Joseph Maile, violins; Pei-Ling Lin, viola and Jeremiah Shaw, cello. The Telegraph Quartet hails from the San Francisco Bay area where they were a 2014-2015 Ensemble-in-Residence with, and fiscally-sponsored by San Francisco Friends of Chamber Music.

The chamber music prize includes a recital in Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall as well as a commissioned work by the eminent American composer Robert Sirota.

Four chamber music ensembles competed in the final round held at the Academy of Arts and Letters. In addition to the Telegraph Quartet, the ensembles included the Zora Quartet (Dechopol Kowinaweewat and Seula Lee, violins; Pablo Munoz Salido, viola; and Zizai Ning, cello); the Verona Quartet (Jonathan Ong and Dorothy Ro, violins; Abigail Rojansky, viola; and Warren Hagerty, cello) and the yMusic Ensemble (Rob Moose, violin and guitar; Nadia Sirota, viola; Gabriel Cabezas, cello; Hideaki Aomori, clarinets; Alex Stoop, flutes and vocals; CJ Camerieri, trumpet and French horn). Each group performed a 55 minute recital for a group of judges that included renowned chamber musicians Samuel Rhodes, Bonnie Hampton, Andrew Jennings, David Geber, Anton Nel, Charles Neidich and Nicholas Mann.

All chamber ensembles were asked to provide three performance ready concert programs as well as proof of a concert career of three years or more. The Naumburg Chamber Music Competition was open to string quartets, piano trios and ensembles with at least three members and not more than eight, without a conductor.

A press release including the Telegraph Quartet's bio can be downloaded using the link below.

Download Press Release

The Walter W. Naumburg Foundation
120 Claremont Avenue, New York, NY 10027
Email: naumburgfoundation@gmail.com
Phone: 917.493.4040

International Cello Competition

Took place October 13-18, 2015


The final round of the Naumburg 2015 International Cello Competition was held yesterday afternoon at Manhattan School of Music in New York City.

The first-prize winner is Lev Sivkov. Mr. Sivkov, a native of Russia, is 25 years old and currently studies in Germany. Mr. Sivkov receives a cash award of $15,000 and two fully subsidized New York recitals. Two cellists tied for second place. They are Jay Campbell, age 26, who is doing his post graduate studies at Juilliard, and Brannon Cho, age 20, who currently attends the Bienen School of Music, Northwestern University. Both cellists receive a cash award of $7,500.

Honorable mentions were also given to the Korean cellist Jee Hay Bae, 27 years old, who studies at the Hochschule fur Musik Freiburg, and Jonathan Roozeman, 18 years old from Finland and studies at the Sibelius Academy Youth Department.

First-prize winner Lev Sivkov with pianist Evan Solomn

Second-prize winners: left to right Brannon Cho and Jay Campbell

The Five Finalists -- pictured left to right are Brannon Cho, Jay Campbell congratulating Jonathan Roozeman, Jee Hye Bae and Lev Sivkok

First-prize winner Lev Sivkov

All photos by Brian Hatton